This Is Not An Emergency, So Why?

Today it is my turn to help out my brother in-law, maybe.

Ed is going to see his doctor today and I might be coming back without him.  He is a typical guy like I use to be before I accepted the fact I am limited to what I can do.  I can drive! I might be, because he is a typical guy, the one driving him to the west side of Boston.

The last time I took Ed to Boston it was in an Emergency.

You might know an Ed. I do not remember what I was doing at the time but I got a call from my wife saying that Ed couldn’t breathe.  She was crying on the phone!  Caroline and her sister were stuck in a traffic jam on Route 1 in Saugus which at the time was a long three lane parking lot.  I dropped what I was doing and was the first to arrive on the scene.  No idea how he got on the landing to open the door to his house but he did not look well.  He was having a tough time breathing.  I knew right then an there that this was an ambulance type of situation.  I was about to dial 911 when Ed said, “Don’t… if you call an ambulance I’ll lock the door and no one will get in.”  Does Ed sound like someone you know?

Who else did my wife call?

The next thing I know my niece, Ed’s step daughter, arrives on the scene with her daughter.  I’m thinking to my self, I might be a useless crippled guy but what are they doing here?  My niece got a similar call from my wife.  She grabbed her neighbor, who she never even spoke with before this night happened , for the ride over.

Who would arrive next?

My youngest daughter was next to arrive with her boyfriend and my grandson.  They got the crying call also.  At least someone was there, my daughter’s boyfriend,  to help Ed get into my vehicle.  I was counting on emergency personal at the hospital help him out of the vehicle.  My niece was taking the ride with her daughter.

Ed’s wife arrives!

Kenny helped  Ed into my vehicle after pulling it up to the stairs by going over the curb and part of the lawn.  After Ed was buckled in that’s when my wife and her sister pulled up joining our own little traffic jam.  Ed’s wife said she would take her granddaughter in my wife’s vehicle and meet us at the hospital.  Ed’s four year old  grandaugher was clueless to what was going on because nothing can hurt Papa.  I told my wife to grab my Garmin GPS device in case I would be coming home by myself.   It had not even sunk in what was happening as I was in, reaction mode.

On the way to the hospital.

My niece a twenty something for at least the next couple of years was sitting comfortably in the back of the vehicle making and receiving call after call keeping everyone informed of what was going on.  I guess there was a purpose for her being there though some of the calls I heard had noting to do with Ed.  I knew where I was going but not exactly.  When I first got my driving licensee my friends and I must have been on every street, alright almost every street in Boston.  We were on the other side of Fenway Park I knew that much at least after passing the Green Monster.  There were a lot of hospitals in this area.

We arrived at Ed’s Hospital.

Where were the Handicap parking spots I was counting on? I pulled up to an ambulance guy who was idly standing there doing nothing.  I explained that I was permanently disabled asking if he could help Ed into the ER?  He looked at me like I had two heads and no it was not a language thing obviously he  just was not about to help Ed into the ER.  My niece put her phone away deciding to help by running into the ER fetching a wheelchair.  Ed refused to get into the wheelchair proceeding under his own power using a walker he thought he would never use.  It was his walker!  Does this guy sound like someone you know? While Ed and my niece slowly made their way into the hospital I looked around for some Handicap Parking.  I can not even think of a hospital that I been to in the past few years without Handicap Parking near the Emergency Entrance, not that I frequent hospitals for emergencies for my self, but it makes it easier for me to access a hospital.  It reduce my risk of doing a Bambi between my vehicle and who ever I might be visiting in at a particular hospital.  The Handicap Parking was in a Garage about 100 yards away from the Emergency Entrance. I was glad it was not raining as I took a ticket to get into the parking garage.

Where was Ed’s wife?

I got a call telling me the reason they were not there yet was because my sister in-law was late telling my wife when to turn so they ended up on Mass. Ave. They used my GPS to get them to the hospital.  When  they finally arrived with Papa’s little girl, I was informed by my sister in-law in order to get my vehicle out of the garage I needed to get my parking pass validated which gave me a $5.00 discount off of the eight dollar charge only if I left right then an there.  So me and my little Honey (GPS) who helped me get home left the hospital leaving my wife there with her niece, sister and Ed’s granddaughter.

Today Ed decided to drive himself to the hospital for his Doctor visit.

I would have never finished this entry if I got the call to take him in.  I cringe at the thought but know it is the guy thing and his superstitious nature that I didn’t get the call. The appointment was at 11:00 it is now 12:48 as I write this.  My wife called shortly after 10:00 to tell me Ed was not answering his phone then finally getting through he told her to tell me “Thanks but no thanks.”  The reason he did not want me to take him in was because the one and only time I took him in was he ended up staying there. Does Ed sound like someone you know?


Leave a Reply

