My First Food Review

Santarpio’s Pizza of East Boston according to NECN is #1 in New England but don’t take their word, take my mine “It’s Great!!!”

This past July I was taking my wife shopping up in Danvers to Costco’s.  After passing Wendy’s in Peabody just before the turn off to Route 128 I noticed a new sign over what use to be Bennigans Grill & Tavern that was now Santarpio’s.  Santarpio’s Pizza of Peabody

A couple of weeks later  I decided to take a drive up to Peabody to check it out.  It had been well over 12 years since I went to Santarpio’s in East Boston.  It was the last time I saw my sister who was a year older than me alive.  She was now living out in California and she wanted to eat something good before she got on her plane.

There were only a few vehicles in the parking lot when I pulled in.  The doors were open when I walked in.   Two women who looked like they worked there told me they were not opened and that they were waiting for the new ovens to be installed.

It looked like nearly everything was waiting to great new customers.

I was still hungry for some lamb & sausage so I decided to take a drive down memory lane after a quick check of Google Maps seeing it was practically down the street from a former apartment I use to live in on Bennington St. in Beachmont that went right down to Chelsea St. in East Boston.

I was welcomed by everyone who worked there making me feel right at home.

I got the combo which to me was pretty much an appetizer although it had great flavor.  I had to go for a pizza ordering a sausage and cheese.

I got a chance to take a walk through their kitchen  for which a guy like me is not an easy chore because we had to move or cars or the street cleaners would have had us towed.

I listened as customers came in and to my surprise most were first timers referred by airport employees as regular customers piled into their usual seats.

When my pizza finally came out it was loaded down with cheese it looked like shit but it tasted Great.

The ambiance was not what I expected in relation to the price and of what I remembered.

I went to Santarpio’s in Peabody the day after they opened on September 16, after finding out I lost 6 pounds on top of  losing 3 upon my previous doctor visit.

The new place is Great!

The ambiance matched the prices and there seemed to be more folk from or formally from East Boston of which I have an ear for.

Leave a Reply

